Quick Tips for Searching the Database

Name

You may enter (sur)names in this field, upper and lower case letters being searched alike. Please note that search terms are always automatically truncated on the right-hand side. Typing for instance Schwarz therefore also matches persons called Schwarzer, Schwarzenberg etc..

Please note also that the system supports variant spellings, searches being automatically extended to name variants, pseudonyms, artists’ names etc.. As a result, the hits include persons with lemmata different from the original search term.

Example

The search term „Sealsfield“ results in 2 hits

  • Postl, Karl (Ps. C. Sidons, Charles Sealsfield) : OEBL
  • Sealsfield, Charles : ADB/NDB

Examples

  • Typing „Segvic“: will also find „Šegvić“
  • Typing „Schöller“: will also find „Schoeller“
  • Typing „Haßler“: will find „Haßler“ and „Hassler“

Forename

Please proceed as in the field „Name“. Please remember however that in addition it is prerequisite to enter a search term in the field „Name“. Otherwise the search will fail, the system providing you only with an error note.

Please note that for searching persons who lived in former times it may be advisable to enter the search term only in the field „Name“ (i.e. name), as surnames and forenames cannot be clearly differentiated. The same applies to members of the nobility (such as dukes, kings and emperors).

Profession

You may enter in German any type of profession (as free text) in this field; it will be treated as a portion of the word with automatical left- and right-hand truncation.

Please note that the types of profession have not yet been standardized. So the search result may not be exhaustive, as different terms may define the same class of professions. A later version of the database will include a standardized classification of the professions as well as a list of authorized search terms which may then be selected to specify the search.

Born / Deceased

You may search in these fields either by the precise Years of Birth or Death (preset) or extend the search by circumscribing the years with the German terms „before)" / „around" / „after". Days and months however cannot be searched.

The term „around" applies to different ranges of years depending on the period selected. For certain defined periods, the range of years covered by the search amounts to the following:

  • Until 500 A.D.: +/- 10 years
  • 501 to 1500: +/- 5 years
  • 1501 to 1900: +/- 3 years
  • From 1901: +/- 1 years

Hilfe zur Suche

Name

In diesem Feld kann der (Nach-)Name ohne Berücksichtigung von Groß- und Kleinschreibung gesucht werden. Zu beachten ist, dass die Suche immer automatisch rechtstrunkiert erfolgt. Wenn also z. B. nach Schwarz gesucht wird, so werden auch Personen mit Namen Schwarzer, Schwarzenberg usw. gefunden.

Weiters ist zu beachten, dass die Namenssuche automatisch auch auf Namensvarianten, Pseudonyme, Künstlernamen usw. ausgedehnt wird. Daher können auch Personen gefunden werden, deren Lemmata anders als der eingegebene Suchbegriff lauten.

Beispiel

„Sealsfield“ findet 2 Treffer

  • Postl, Karl (Ps. C. Sidons, Charles Sealsfield) : OEBL
  • Sealsfield, Charles : ADB/NDB

Beispiele

  • Suchbegriff „Segvic“: findet auch „Šegvić“
  • Suchbegriff „Schöller“: findet auch „Schoeller“
  • Suchbegriff „Haßler“: findet „Haßler“ und „Hassler“

Vorname

Sinngemäß wie im Feld „Name“. Allerdings wird die Suche nur dann ausgeführt, wenn zugleich das Feld „Name“ einen Suchbegriff enthält. Andernfalls kommt es zu einer Fehlermeldung!

Hinweis: Bei der Suche nach Personen aus früheren Epochen kann es erforderlich sein, den Suchbegriff nur in das Feld „Name“ einzugeben, da eine Trennung in Nach- und Vorname nicht möglich ist. Gleiches gilt für Angehörige des Hochadels (z.B. Fürsten, Könige, Kaiser).

Beruf

In dieses Feld kann eine beliebige Berufsangabe (Freitext) eingegeben werden; die Suche erfolgt automatisch links- und rechtstrunkiert!

Hinweis: die Berufsangaben sind derzeit nicht normiert, es kann daher vorkommen, dass für eine Berufsgattung verschiedene Begriffe existieren und das Suchergebnis daher nicht repräsentativ ist. Eine einheitliche Berufsklassifizierung sowie die Auswahlmöglichkeit von verbindlichen Suchbegriffen aus einer Liste ist erst in einer späteren Version vorgesehen.

Geboren / Gestorben

In diesen Feldern kann entweder nach den exakten Geburts- bzw. Sterbejahren gesucht werden (Standardeinstellung) oder die Suche wird durch die Auswahl eines Selektors („vor“ / „um“ / „nach“) erweitert. Die Suche nach Tages- und Monatsdaten ist nicht möglich.

Die Suche mit dem Selektor „um“ wurde für verschieden Zeiträume in unterschiedlicher Staffelung ausgeführt. So beträgt der Suchzeitraum für die Jahre:

  • Bis 500 n.Chr.: +/- 10 Jahre
  • 501 bis 1500: +/- 5 Jahre
  • 1501 bis 1900: +/- 3 Jahre
  • Ab 1901: +/- 1 Jahr